Parish Council Agendas and Minutes

Tallentire Windfarm Community Development Fund

Bridekirk Village

Dovenby Village

Tallentire village

Bridekirk Dovenby School

Bridekirk Church & Parish Lectures

Local Links

Dovenby WI Archive
with 2017 programme

Local History

Back to Dovenby WI Index

Dovenby WI October 2009

The October meeting being the AGM, opened with members enjoying a Pie and Pea Supper followed by a fresh fruit salad.

President Diana Clark opened the business of the evening with her report of the Autumn Council Meeting attended by herself and Anita Birkett, the subject being the 'Violence Against Women' campaign.

The meeting continued with secretary Pat Harper reading minutes from the last AGM, and then gave her report for this year, which was then adopted by Nancy Fearon. Treasurer Anita Birkett then gave her Annual Report, which was accepted and seconded by Kath Palmer.

The President Diana Clark gave her annual report, thanking the committee for their help during the year.

Committee members were re-elected, except for Secretary Pat Harper, who was standing down, after a successful tenure. Geraldine Baldwin was elected and accepted the post of Secretary.

The Annual Competition was won by Nancy Fearon, with Julie Rollison in second place, and Anita Birkett in third place.

The Competition, speakers and competitions for the next three month was won by Martha Thompson, with runner-up Mary Foster.

The Raffle was won by Carol Colquitt

The November meeting on the 12th is Christmas Handicrafts, and the December meeting on the 11th is the Christmas Party.

Dovenby WI is always happy to see new faces. Meetings are held on the second Thursday of the month at Bridekirk Dovenby School commencing at 7:30pm.


Parish Council Contact  - clerk@bridekirkparish.org.uk
Website contact -
Bridekirk Parish Council, Cumbria